Moving On Up

The Farrell twins have officially moved into a big kid room and boy are they loving it!  Their momma is loving it too as I had another opportunity to design a room with style.  Before even getting started, I needed a plan.  As I have mentioned before, I have boy/girl twins which can get tricky when trying to incorporate color schemes and gender neutral hues.  With the help and guidance of a designer, I decided to create more of a boy’s themed room and make my daughter’s side a bit more girly as necessary.  Eventually, she will move into her own room and we can go all out for her.

I only had a few requirements for the designer.  I am a sucker for a big monogram so that was a must.  And I wanted bold colors and classic designs.  Well, she did not disappoint.  Check out a few pics from the twins room:

Darling and classic bedding from John Robshaw Textiles.  Walls are painted classic Benjamin Moore, “Navajo White.”

Love this “gent’s” bed skirt in red

These lovely animal prints were a great find on one of my new favorite sites- One Kings Lane.  It is hard to tell but they are framed in black bamboo.  So cool!  And love that they are not so “kid-ish” that I couldn’t eventually use them elsewhere in the house.

Check out these cute lion bookends from Serena and Lily.  Functional and handsome.  I am on the lookout for some vintage children’s books but for now, I have these Museum of Art books as a place holder.   Also, this is a PBK dresser that I had painted in Benjamin Moore “Cloud White.”

And finally, look what just arrived in the mail today?!  This area rug from West Elm in flax.  I haven’t had time to set it up in their room yet (needing my hubby’s help) but it will be so nice to have something soft.

A few more decorative items to come but in my book, simple is best…especially with two 2-year old toddlers!

1 Comment

Filed under Design, Favorite Baby Products, Multiples, Resources

One response to “Moving On Up

  1. Thanks Laura! Love this post!

Leave a Reply

