Bionic Fatigue

So I am reading this book “The Pregnancy Countdown Book” by Susan Macgee.  It goes through each week/day of pregnancy addressing all the fears, quirks and surprises that come with it.  Here is an excerpt I read the other day:

Bionic Fatigue (noun):  The excruciating and bone-crushing tiredness found in early pregnancy that is unlike any other fatigue you will experience in your life and that no one but another pregnant woman really understands.  Example: Due to her bionic fatigue, Jane leaned over to tie her show and woke up two hours later barefoot and on the floor.”

I had NO IDEA, really, NO IDEA, how tiring a little bun in the oven can be. Don’t get me wrong, I will happily be tired and sick to my stomach everyday for our precious one. But, really, I was not prepared for this.  (Although, I will not lie, an excuse to take an afternoon nap is wonderful).

Yesterday, I was walking in from a long (napless) day.  My neighbor was walking in at the same time. I literally have no idea what I said to her. I was so tired I literally could not think. I think my words were, “so tired, I just need to take a nap, can’t function without it.”  I am sure she was thinking, “okay weirdo…”

As soon as I got through the door, I stumbled to the couch and woke up 2 hours later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

